About Me

For most of my life, I have been a nerd. As a child, I had two uncles that owned Texas Instruments TI-99/4A computers. I wanted one so bad because both of my uncles had this game, Hunt the Wumpus.

TI 99/4A
TI 99/4a – BASIC on this machine was my first language. After 30 years of not touching this system, I wrote a functional program with no syntax errors in August 2016.

Whenever one of my uncles decided to get rid of his (I was approximately 8 years old), my parents bought it for me. Instead of getting to Hunt the Wumpus, I got programming books – specifically TI-99/4A BASIC books of games.

That said, as a teenager I owned Commodore 64, Macintosh, Gateway, and other computers. On each machine, I learned every language that I could learn by teaching myself with books.

By the time my senior year in high school came, I was well versed in many computer languages on many different machines. There were no versions of BASIC that was exactly the same! By having the fundamentals there and understanding many languages, I breezed through my computer science program and ultimately won the computer science award that year – after my teacher wouldn’t allow me to participate in actual coding but rather used me as a teacher’s aide.

Apple 2 DOS 3.3 (BASIC)
Apple 2 DOS 3.3 (BASIC) – High School Computer Science Award

Throughout my adulthood, I have furthered my learning in computer science. Within the last ten years, I haven’t focused on learning so many languages and staying up to date with them. Today, I focus primarily on php, Java, XML, and occasionally will still write a console app with C++.

Utilizing tools such as Adobe Dreamweaver, Eclipse (Android Development Tools), CodeBlocks (I love open source software), and VisualStudio, I spend most of my time focusing on current system languages and less time reminiscing on the good old days.

Adobe Dreamweaver - Primary tool used for writing code today
Adobe Dreamweaver CC – My primary tool today for writing code

As of 31MAR16, I am full time in the tech sector. I work from home where I build websites, manage servers, build PCs and servers, repair computers and phones, and play around writing Android games.

When I am doing computer related work, I enjoy spending time outdoors with my wife, 5 children, and 3 dogs.